1. 1. You a ClutchMaster(tm)?

• More than once a month
    • Once a month
    • Once every month-and-a-half
    • Once every 2 months
    • Once every 6 months
    • Once a year
    • I am the master - never stalled!

Stalled my car this morning in traffic. Yuck. What is up with this clutch that makes it so finicky?

I've been driving manual for 4 years - albeit with the same car - but the last car sure wasn't as touchy as this one.

So far I think I'm averaging about once a month (since getting my car this past July) :lol:

Edit: I'd like to add that with my previous car, I'd probably average to about 1 stall every 8 months or so... (ie being careless, etc)

-=- Livin life at 140 BPM -=-

• Replies 64
  • Created
  • Last Reply

This is my first car with MT. When I first got it I stall the car several times a day. Now I don’t remember when the last time it was happen.

Question: Is stalling the car cause any damage to the engine or transmission?

IBAutomaticownerssaynever

:lol:

Since I've got a 5EAT, you would expect so, but nope it happened once and only once on a very cold morning at the first trafficlight I hit. Came to move and it stalled.

IBmblock66says5EATisbettArthan5MTphuxemanandtripodriphimanewoneandtehlocknessmonsterappearsforthe2ndandfinaltime

I keed I keeed

I've stalled my leagcy at least 15 times in the month that I've owned it. My summer car has a lightened flywheel, aftermarket clutch, and 360 rwhp and couldn't tell you the last time I stalled that. I don't know if its the dual mass flywheel, the fact that the clutch grabs an inch from the floor, or what...
ignore him, he'll go away.

I haven't stalled mine for a while, except for two weeks ago when I was playing in a snowy parking lot getting used to how it drives in the snow. Ended up rolling backwards sans power (stalled and then hit clutch so the car just dawdled on backwards at a couple mph).