LegacyGT.com

Catalytic smell

Jduke

Hey all, got a new 05 Legacy GT wagon in red, and have a couple questions.

Also not a total newbie... Ive been on NASIOC for about 3 years and this is my 3rd subie.

Anyhow, Im at about 800 miles on the car and have started to push the rpms up to about 5000, last night during a somewhat long drive compared to the distances I driven so far with the car I was getting some pretty noticeable egg smell from the cats heating up... Has anyone else noticed this? I usually notice it when your behind someone going up a hill or whatever, but this was coming from me? Maybe just the catalyst feeling the heat of the higher rpms and breaking in a bit?

I figure its nothing to worry about but need piece of mind you know.

Other than that I am loving this car, although I cannot get a definite answer on when the first oil change needs to be... and I read all 11 pages of the oil change/ maintenance section...

Thanks

John D.

Guest *Jedimaster*
That 2nd cat is definitely stinky. I'm getting a high flow one soon so that'll be the cure for mine. I'll bet they'll recall them sooner or later- it seems like they all do it when they're warm and you run the car hard- seems to only take one run through 2nd to get mine stinking.

I've gotten the smell too. It's part of the break-in process. As for the first oil change, service manager at my dealership has been working on Subies exclusively for 15 years. He says to keep in under 4K RPM for the first 1K miles and to change oil for the first time at 3K miles.

That 2nd cat is definitely stinky....I'll bet they'll recall them sooner or later- it seems like they all do it when they're warm and you run the car hard- seems to only take one run through 2nd to get mine stinking.

+1

That nasty bad egg smell is what people are complaining about with the clutch stink too.

At first, I thought it could be the converter, but why would I get the smell when backing up a hill?