LegacyGT.com

New sound system

emmer90d

Right now I'm running alpine type s speakers with a alpine f4 (400 watt) powering them.

I also have 2 rockford 12in P1's (2nd generation) with a walmart special sony xplode 1000 watt amp.

For the issue, I am not happy with the subs i have and am looking to put kicker CVX's in the box and take out the P1s. The kickers "call" for 750rms each. I would like to keep my subs and amp from the same company. (might be unneeded, but i feel that a company makes amps that can power their own subs...) I'm looking at getting 2 kicker ZX1000 amps to power the Kicker CVX's.

If i did this, would all 3 amps be drawing too much power from my battery/alt? Would that result in me needing a second battery?

I'm not competing or anything, but if i'm putting a large box in my trunk, i should get the most out of it. Money is tight, but for the right system i can work for it. As it looks i'm already going to spend about $1200 for the subs and amps.

I'm new at this and will take any opinions and suggestions on what i should do, or if i should not get the kickers...and if so please give a suggestions on what to get!

Get one amp for your subs, it's way simpler. And don't get all set on having Kicker amps for Kicker subs; that really narrows your options and you won't be able to get what's best for you. Kicker doesn't design their amps to specifically power their own subs, nor do they design their subs such that another amp can't power them effectively.

With two CVXs, I'd get THIS amp myself. You'd want two dual 4 ohm subs so you could wire to 1 ohm at the amp.