LegacyGT.com

abs problem

Newbie here, please go easy on me. I tried searching but didn't find the answer so here goes.

My 1995 Legacy L AWD illuminates the ABS light after start up and moving forward approx 40 feet. It's an OBD-II car. Can I scan the abs codes through that port? If not, how do I get at the codes? I've searched the internet and came up with a connector near the heat outlet on the driver's side by the center console. However, I'm not sure what to connect to it to get it to flash the the codes via the light. I'm sure it's probably a wheel sensor or ring, but I'd like to know which prior to changing parts...

Any help would be appreciated.

Can't read abs codes through the obd port. Need a special scanner.

Make sure the ring is clean and also the sensor eye.

About all the help I can give.

O.

does the abs work?

you can read the codes by grounding out a pin in the connector. but i don't know which pin or which connector.

try a search over on ultimatesubaru.org i know it's over there.

• I Donated

Actually, you can read ABS and SRS codes through the OBDII port

You don't pull OBDII codes by grounding a few pins and watching the light flash. You need a scanner to do it.

-broknindarkagain

My Current Project - Click Here

COME AND TAKE IT

"The only thing necessary for the triumph of evil is for good men to do nothing."

with the subaru ''scan tool'' you can read all codes through the OBD-2 port.

but you can also read the ABS codes on the flashing ABS light, if you know how to activate it.

same is true for the trans codes.

i found this for 90 - 95 legos.(thanks porc73) there is a similar procedure, if not the same, for 96 - 99.

i think you need to ground terminal L with the key off. Then after grounding L, you go to key on, then it flashes out the codes.

http://www.porcupine73.com/pics/abs/abs-2E-diagnostics.gif

from endwrench, for later 90s cars:

turn car off.

ground out pin #3 on connector B82. (a 6 pin connector above the gas pedal.)