LegacyGT.com

Rough idle, engine sputter/misfire.

Noob here. Longtime lurker/first time poster. I've been helped quite a bit by reading these forums and have bookmarked quite a few threads that I refer to from time to time (Thanks!).

So I have a 2005 Legacy 2.5i NA/non-turbo with about 180k miles on it.

A few week ago I noticed that, on acceleration, the car sputtered quite a bit and misfired a few times. Figuring I needed new spark plugs (I did), I replaced them with the help of GEE-OTTOs tutorial (and it only took an hour or so!).

That pretty much solved the problem. It ran perfectly.

For about a week.

Now, when the car is idling in drive, the idle is very rough and the engine will randomly sputter/shake. It's like a hiccup. From what I can tell, this only happens while idling in drive. Occasionally it will sputter just at take-off/initial acceleration but that's only when I start while the engine is 'hiccuping.'

This has been going on for about a week now and the hiccuping has becoming increasingly frequent. I really hope I'm not doing too much damage by driving it like this but I have no other way to get to work (it's only a 3 mile drive so it's not putting a ton of mileage on it).

Any ideas on where to start? I've searched these forums extensively and have a few ideas but just not quite sure.

Thanks in advance!

Have heard that sometimes a dirty mass airflow sensor can do that, happens as car gets older etc. Other than that maybe an ECU reset, if you can do that by removing the battery, could help but have not tried it. Hope this little advice helps but i'd read into that sensor, or if someone you know has a diagnostic device plug it in and see if any errors are showing up.

Thanks for the help! I'll take an all-of-the-above strategy on this one.

Another symptom I noticed today that may help zero-in on the issue:

The sputter increases when I turn the steering wheel and I notice the headlights dim at the same time.

How old is the battery ?