LegacyGT.com

What's this noise?

I've heard this noise once before.. I thought it was a belt because I had put on new acc. belts. Tightened them up and then it went away.

I didn't drive the car on Sunday so it sat for a whole day, but this morning, it made this noise while starting.

http://www.jay-d.com/brooklyn/noise.mp4 (33mb)

It only happens when it's cold.. as soon as I got to work (30 minutes later), turned the car off then back on again.. the noise is gone. It never happens when it's hot outside, but since it's getting colder, it looks like it's come back.

I've never heard a noise like this, doesn't sound like a belt to me anymore.. maybe my starter? :redface:

When I read your post, I knew before even listening to the clip that it'd be the same as mine. Now that I've looked at your video, I can confirm that my car does this too, same exact behavior. Weather's been cool as of late and the noise is back. I've been ignoring it, car's been working fine for the last 2 years since it's been doing this on and off. :)

sounds like your starter, you're holding the key in a too long when you start it. I'm already use to it so i let go of the key the second the engine starts to turn over. My gf still cant figure out how to turn the key and kills me to hear my car make that noise. so she hardly uses it now.

sounds like your starter, you're holding the key in a too long when you start it. I'm already use to it so i let go of the key the second the engine starts to turn over. My gf still cant figure out how to turn the key and kills me to hear my car make that noise. so she hardly uses it now.

Definitely not holding my key in! It's making that noise when I've already released the key.

It only does it when it's cold, not warmed up. I held the key in once about 8 years ago and never again once I heard that noise!