LegacyGT.com

Dilemma**I Need Expert or Experienced Advice** Please Chime In, & Help!!

Ok my name is Jay from NY & I’m new to this cool A$$ forum! Here is my dilemma, I’m sure you guys have read this thousands of times so please bare with me! I have been automobile shopping for a while and finally decided that Subaru is the way I wanted to go. I’m particularly interested in an older 4th Gen. Legacy. I am pretty savvy in terms of motor-sports and vehicular engineering as a whole (also on BMW M5 Forum)! So after much research and reading up (6 months) on the preferred 2004-2009 2.5 Turbo & the naturally aspirated 2.5i; I’ve gotten myself into a pickle. I really want the GT Turbo version (but kinda afraid), however my research and intuition tells me the natural 2.5i seems obviously safer. The Turbo’s banjo bolt / filter issue is telling me to stay away, but the power is calling me! I have read about the attention to detail required for the Turbo’s as well as multiple opinions on how to remedy my nervousness regarding the turbo seizing! 1.) Remove the filter from the banjo altogether, 2.) Install aftermarket oil supply line with accessible filter built in. 3.) Monitor and/or change the filter at every oil change! This is obviously labor intensive, do I want to choose this level of care, or is there another remedy, which will allow me to enjoy my turbo without fear? (Don’t plan to drive this car hard.) I really want the 2.5 Turbo as I am an enthusiast at heart, but have read horror stories about seizing, are there any good / success stories about tackling this? Am I overreacting, or is it really as serious a problem as it has been reported?