LegacyGT.com

Why hundreds of dollars on a pre made axle back when you could have one made?

Vagetarian

This is probably a complete noob question but can someone explain to me why anyone would spend hundreds of dollars for an axle back exhaust opposed to buying some pipe and having it custom bent by an exhaust shop for way cheaper?

For example; I drive an 07 outback xt and am interested in the nameless performance axle back muffler delete. It cost $350+ dollars. Its basically a straight pipe with tips that any exhaust shop could put together for me at a fraction of the cost.

What are the pros and cons to this? Can I have a shop also make me a downpipe? Thanks for the replies!

p.s. If it makes a difference I have a cobb V3 connected to the car.

Perfect fitment out of the box, unless you buy an ebay exhaust.

Personnally I would buy an aftermarket DP for fitment (you can find used DP for cheap if you search the classified sections) and go to an exhaust shop for the rest : catback / axle back

Custom quality CBE from a shop will cost a lot more than a jig manufactured CBE. You can get a cheap CBE made but it will be made out of thinner ga. 409 steel, have crush bends where needed and wont hold up as long (road salt/harsh enviro/heat cycles) and flow as smooth as say a 304 system with mandrel bends.

Now the question of: how much of a restriction do crush bends introduce? The answer for 99% of LGT owners is none, same as how the stock CBE isnt a problem for 99% of LGT owners. Also: what do I care if cheaper steel discolors and is thinner and may rot?