LegacyGT.com

stock projectors: cutoff shield filling

Impulse

so this winter darkness has me noticing that my stock bulbs just arent cutting it for my needs and so i will be upgrading to HIDs this weekend. i just had a question for those who've gone this route (i'm a p00r college student w/ no time to do a retro, unless someone wants to donate:rolleyes:).

to fill the hole in the cutoff shield to reduce glare, i was planning to patch it over with JB weld and tin foil (shiny side facing in), both of which should withstand the heat. i was wondering if that was feasible since i havent looked at the cutoff shield before(but i did have the headlights apart to remove the orange reflectors) as an alternative on spending $ on muffler putty.

thanks!

matt

I read in some threads that folding the flap could possibly deform the rest of the plate which might cause bad cut off. I personally just left it and put HIDs in anyways, im getting glare but havnt had any one highbeam me yet, though some of my friends do complain about it, but they are also driveing lowered cars. If you do the JBweld id recomend letting it dry outside of the headlight for a day. the fumes while it is drying might fog up your headlights. I wanted to cut apart a pop can and cover the hole and jb weld it, but i didnt want to deal with waiting it for dry because i only had 1 day to blackhouse and install my HIDs.

if you are already opening them up, why not buy rx330 non afs that will bolt on exactly in the stock spot. It will be MUCH wider than the halogen (even with the holes filled) and provide a better pattern.

I agree with this guy. If you're going through the trouble of opening them up then do it "right". Getting the rx bits isn't terribly expensive and the results are quite good.

Me, I hate opening headlights so I took the easy route.

...(i'm a p00r college student w/ no time to do a retro, unless someone wants to donate:rolleyes:).

t...