LegacyGT.com

Clutch / Transmission issue. Bad noises...

EDIT: 9/16/14. New issues with the tranny...see my latest post on page 2.

Okay, so we have about 105K on our 06 LGT. Last Tuesday we had the timing belt and water pump done as well as an oil change and I think the serp. belt too. (at the dealer--I know I'm probably wasting money). Tonight I think something terrible happened to the clutch / transmission.

sorry for the book:

My girlfriend primarily drives the car. She picked it up from the dealer a few days ago and told me it sounded like it was making a high pitch squeaking sound when releasing the clutch after making a shift. The dealer was closed so we were going to call in the morning but by the next day the sound had disappeared and it was shifting as normal and smooth as ever. I am far from a mechanic, but I rationalized that maybe it was just the new belts settling in that caused the squealing sound and didn't think anything of it.

She drove the car for a couple hundred miles after that without issue but tonight I got a frantic call that the car wasn't shifting right, stalled and was making a terrible sound. She said that the first thing she noticed was that while in traffic tonight going from 4th to 3rd, the clutch pedal "bucked / bounced" a little while she was releasing it and made a noise (she can't describe it, but it was different than the squeaking earlier in the week), but shifted normally. She continued to drive the last few miles and that continued to happen whenever she would push in the clutch. When she got to the parking lot, she stopped and when shifting into first it seemed worse. Then when she went to shift into reverse it seemed even worse, but still shifted and drove in reverse.