LegacyGT.com

Subaru Sunroof Repair for $9 (detailed with photos)

gpetrowich

I have seen several posts on broken Subaru sunroofs. Mine was broken for about 5 years and I finally took it on last weekend with the help of this and another forum (http://forums.nasioc.com/forums). I have photographed some key aspects along the way and posted them here with fairly detailed instructions. I realize this may be more detail than a seasoned “Subie” requires, but hey, I am a novice and even a novice can do this repair with some good instructions. If you want to fix your sunroof for $9 instead of $1200 this may help you out.

What you will need:

1) A 12-year old son with strong mechanical aptitude, better eyesight than you and a keen attention to detail. If one of these is not available you will at least be better off with a second set of hands. In fact I’d say this is dang near impossible with only one person. You’re certain to damage your interior, your knuckles and your patience if you try this alone.

2) A power screwdriver or better year a drill with socket driver will be very helpful as there are many, many bolts and nuts to remove to get the assembly out of your car.

3) A clean space to work and lay out the parts as you remove them. There are many parts photo.

4) About 12 hours of your life (times two people). Less if you get it right the first time.

First, read the post below:

http://forums.nasioc.com/forums/showthread.php?t=541578&highlight=sunroof+removal

It is an excellent overview that I used posted at a different forum so please read this first (and thanks to “Gator GT” for getting me started). Post #20 has the details. I am merely adding my personal detail, insights and photos to go with this step by step.