LegacyGT.com

Engine Clicking...Fix it, replace it, or kill it with Fire?

The ol' 95 has seen better days. I should hit 214,000 miles by this time next week, the last 90k of which I have service records. The motor seems to be totally stock and it shows. Power is lacking, as is efficiency. And what is a torque and where do I buy one?

She's been clicking for a while now. Not a deafening loud, but an audible noise.

A) what could it be?

The timing belt is also due for replacement soon, so that leads to my next dilemma.

B) Do I do the timing belt or wait till I can fix?

and C) Am I better off with an EJ22?

Before you ask, I have little experience, fewer tools, and even less money.

And what is a torque and where do I buy one?

Do you mean a torque wrench? You can get a cheap one at Harbor freight but it might suck.

She's been clicking for a while now. Not a deafening loud, but an audible noise.

A) It might just be as simple as a collapsed or noisy hydraulic lash adjuster (HLA). If so it's a cheap fix. Remove the valve covers and rocker assembly to replace or bleed it. Here is a youtube of a noisy HLA on my SS: [ame=http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VckpQAChYs0&feature=plcp]Initial startup of 93 Subaru SS w/EJ22T after rebuild. - YouTube[/ame]

B) If you are way past due a timing belt change then it is a good idea to replace it. However, you have a non interference engine so if your timing belt breaks then your engine will shut off and nothing will be damaged. So if you are in a bind you can wait.

C) You already have an EJ22.

Here are some pics from my EJ22E. Once you remove the valve cover you will see the rocker assembly. The HLAs sit in the assembly and are little hydraulic pistons that maintain proper valve clearance. They are oil fed and a really cool feature, imo. Swapping out an HLA is much easier than replacing a valve shim.