LegacyGT.com

legacy sti swap

Hey guys, im new to the whole forum scene and honestly the whole subaru scene in general. I recently got my hands on a 99 legacy and am hoping to succesfully do a full sti swap transmission engine brakes etc. I was wondering if someone might be able to assist me as far as knowledge is concerned. Such as problems commonly encountered with a project like this because there is bound to be many for a do it your selfer (im not a mechanic by any means ) so any help would be greatly appreciated

That sticky is as helpful as it gets! Most of the time when I've read swap threads on other forums people get lost in all the wiring or they build up the motor internally before the swap for.more HP, put it in and have a knock or something and have to re pull the motor... each swap will be different... my only true advice is triple check EVERYTHING so that way you won't have to realize you did something wrong after its all said and done. And wiring WILL be a pain. Have you ever done a swap into any.kind of vehical?

No, I have never done anything like this ive only had my license since the fall and this is my first car i have a few friends who are ford techs and others that are just skilled mechanics so im looking towards them for some help as well but i figured this would be the best spot