LegacyGT.com

Winter prep question

I was reading through the threads in this section, and came across the winter care thread. I'm a newb to the products mentioned there, like clay bar, minerals and such. Anyway I was wondering how these products would apply to my car since I had the paint sealed when I bought and was told to not wax it. The dealership said waxing would ruin the sealant finish.

Basically what I'm asking here is what products are safe to use on a sealed car, and how should I go about winterizing it?

♪Emancipate yourselves from mental slavery;

None but ourselves can free our minds.♫ -Bob Marley, Redemption Song

It depends on what kind of crap the dealership put on the car to begin with. I guarantee you that they didn't put anything on the paint that you can't remove and be happier without. They tell you not to do anything so that you'll feel like you need to come back to them for more. Hit the car with a paint cleaner to remove whatever slime they greased it up with and choose something you can apply yourself and know exactly what is on your car.

Edit: By the way... NOTHING THAT ISN'T PAINT WILL LAST ON YOUR CAR FOR A YEAR. I dont' know what it is that they gave you, but nothing lasts a year on your paint. No sealant or wax. Unless it is baked onto the paint then it is going to wear off. Those "never wax your car again" products are total scams. The fine print says that you have to reapply on a monthly basis to make it last. How that isn't false advertising I do not know. I can tell you from years of research and experience that the industry hasn't made a product that lasts a year without additional applications.

“Cleanliness becomes more important as godliness becomes more unlikely.”

O C D E T A I L S . C O M

OCDETAILS BLOG