LegacyGT.com

New Legacy or Altima? (Hint: Vote Subaru)

Always Learning

First post.

I have been driving Honda Accords for 20+ years now and I want something else.

My wife and I have narrowed the field to:

• 2013 Legacy 3.6R Limited (my vote)
  • 2013 Altima 3.5 SV (her vote)

There are some technology differences between the vehicles (e.g. the Altima has a proximity key and blind-spot detection). But, the difference really comes down to AWD vs. 4 more mpg.

We live in Northen New Jersey (snow 5+ days of the year, rain 50+ days.)

So, sports fans, please help me spend $30,000.

What are your best arguments to buy the Subaru?

Honestly, Nissan did a great job with the Altima.

From the given specs, MPG difference is actually +9/+13(city/hwy) for the Altima. Lately Nissan has been given praise for making their car's interior more Infinity-ish, which is a good thing. Also, Nissan has a pretty good track record as far as reliability goes.

As far as "drive", the Altima is going to be similar to the Accord so if you haven't ran into issues with the Accord up there; I don't think the Altima will cause any issues.

I don't know what your requirements are but I'd personally choose the Altima. I'd go for the Legacy if you absolutely need it(climbing hills/mountains in incliment weather, rough/slippery terrain, and/or need more "passing"/climbing power). For those needs, the Outback is probably more justifiable which may explain the difference in sales figure between the Outback and the Legacy(2-3x more Outback sales than Legacy's).

Fellow N.NJ here. As K2 said, they did a great job with the Altima. As a 3.6R owner, you're def going to go through more gas than an Altima and from what I can tell, the tech on the Altima is far better. As you said, it comes down to MPG's or AWD.