LegacyGT.com

Lowering the 14' OB, looking for some advice.

Electric Mayhem

Hey guys, I've been a member here since I purchased my 12' Legacy and have really enjoyed the community and hope you guys might be able to give some straight forward advice as I'm not getting much help over at the Outback forums.

I recently traded off my Legacy because life changes and I simply needed a bigger vehicle and as we all know Subaru no longer offers the Legacy wagon stateside so the Outback is where I'm at, just with more ground clearance than I care for. That being said I found a really good write up here My 2013 BBP SAP 3.6R Purchase Experience plus more. The only problem is that I have a 2.5 and this was for a 3.6R, so my questions to you guys is, should I simply swap out the 3.6 parts for 2.5 or just keep the 3.6 parts and what could I expect to see if so.

I have zero experience with suspension mods and maybe I'm better off leaving it alone but I know it can be done. I just want to do it right and keep it safe and I'd rather get some advice from an active modding community with more experience.

Listed below is the parts list used in the thread that I linked above, OP started out with LGT springs and struts all around and had issues and ended up with Legacy 3.6 springs and struts up front and a set of Koni Yellow Sports in the back with Outback springs stuffed in them. All of this and the process can be viewed in the linked thread.

SUBARU TWIN HYD SPORT KONI

Part# 8010-1055SPORT

STRUT COMPLETE FRONT LEFT

Make: Subaru

Left part# - 20310AJ07A

STRUT COMPLETE FRONT RH

Right#- 20310AJ06A

COIL SPRING FRONT

Part# - 20330AJ10A

ARM ASSY R UPR RH

Right# - 20252AJ00A

ARM ASSY R UPR LH

Left# - 20252AJ01A

SPRING SEAT UPR F

part# - 20323AG00B

I should also add that coilovers have been suggested but I'm not looking to lower the Outback any further than stock Legacy height and I'd like to maintain a somewhat stock ride, coils are also more than I want to spend for this.