LegacyGT.com

Clutch burned out; too cheap to buy a haynes manual.

Hey gang, Clutch has a funk and doesn't take off until at least 3500 rpm in my my first gen legacy. I bought the appropriate clutch kit and wheeling into carport tomorrow. Any suggestions/pointers on putting this thing in? I am a mechanic and have the appropriate equipment trans jack tools etc. But to be honest I haven looked underneath to even see what i have to do to stuff that clutch in there! I looked for a friendly walkthrough but couldn't find one, maybe I am a dummy, probably a dummy! :hobbes:

Its pretty simple on these cars.

Although I've always found pulling the motor to be easier then dropping the transmission. Its just easier to work on and your not on your back as much. But if you want to drop the transmission heres some simple steps.

First things first, drop the whole exhaust in one piece. Undo the 6 nuts that hold the manifold to the heads, the one bolt by the cat and undo all of the rubber exhaust hangers.

Remove the front axles, I just like to un do the struts and pull the hubs out. You'll want to undo the axle nut and the two 19mm bolts that hold the strut to the hub first. Now work your way toward the transmission, there should be a pin in the axle that you'll have to tap out with a small punch. Its tapered, if it doesn't come out easily when you start turn it around and go from the other side. From that point you'll be able to pull both front axles out.

Next your going to want to move to the rear of the car, begin removing all of the exhaust heat shields. You'll expose the driveshaft. Theres 4 small 12mm bolts and nuts that hold it to the rear diff. Remove these along with the bolts that hold the carrier bearing to the car. From here you'll be able to pull the driveshaft right out of the back of the tranny. WATCH out for fluid though, it will start to gush out the rear.