LegacyGT.com

2003 Legacy L Common issues?

Loki

Hi Folks, I'm brand new to Subarus. I'll be taking delivery of my new (to me) 2003 legacy L mid next week.

I am a VW enthusiast, and I am familiar with the wrench. I however, have been into older cars for a long time. I'm damn good with Kjet, CIS, and early injection. (Don't be mad over my german car fetish, I love domestic and Japanese cars as well.)

OBDII is sort of new to me, I'm computer savvy, and a machinist by trade.

I am the sort of guy who can't get a car without peeking under the hood and checking up on things....and modifying things a bit.

I'll be buying a OBDII blue tooth connector and an Android app... I have also been looking at piggy back tuning computers.

So... enough intro My questions are:

What common issues did these have?

The car has 99k on it, and has a huge stack of service receipts, I'll check recalls and see what has and has not been done.

Where should I start looking into performance mods?

What are the common HP restrictions on these? Air intake? Exhaust? Cam?

Is this one of the Subarus known for a common headgasket failure after 100k?

what other common wear items should I look at (aside from the obvious tie rods, ball joints, and suspension stuff.)

Thanks for reading!

-Loki

I have a very similar car to what you're looking at just a few more miles. The head gaskets are a known issue, but by how you describe yourself you can easily change them out. Minus having to remove a few things from the engine bay to get them out they aren't that bad.

The issues I see a lot in this forum and others are fairly straight forward things, but occasionally something kinda major pops up. I have seen the small things like intake issues from various states of maintained cars, to coolant leaks that kill the engine, but honestly I don't see any of these things steering you away.