LegacyGT.com

Aftermarket security system

GTWhitey

Hey guys,

I'm an electrician and use my 2005 legacy gt wagon for work/hauling my tools. Normally I don't leave my real expensive equipment in the car, but the majority of it stays in the vehicle over night, with my doors locked and the cargo cover concealing my things. My neighborhood seems pretty safe......but if I was robbed, I'd probably be out 1000's $. And I know for a fact tools are sought after by thieves up here.... Maybe everywhere.

I've been thinking of getting an aftermarket security system, not a cheap one, best I can get. Not too interested in a starter but most seem to have the combo.

Has to have a pager or better.

Anyway, 2 questions:

-how good is the factory security system, if a window breaks, will the horn go off? Does the ignition have a safety where it won't start? Is it easy to bypass if the crook is smart?

-does/has anyone have/had any experience with aftermarket systems? Recommendations? Stay aways? Bad experiences?

I've had aftermarket systems in the past, but a long time ago, and remember it not synching perfectly with factory systems.

Any help/advice is appreciated

Mike

i had to get a OEM shock sensor added to my factory OEM alarm. I dont know if thats an option for 05's.

Your best bet is to go for a aftermarket alarm. One with a pager to wake your @ss up incase it goes off in the middle of the night.

btw what Vancouver are you from?

If you think an alarm is going to stop them from stealing your tools, they are already stolen. It only takes 10 seconds for 3 guys to smash a window, take ALL your tools and drive away before you even have your pants on.

Stop wasting time thinking about spending money on alarms that will make less than zero difference and start unloading your tools into and out of your garage every night.

Not like I've had thousands of dollars of tools stolen from me or anything...