LegacyGT.com

Where to mount a fire extinguisher?

lamboman

Hey, I always have an ABCD mini-extinguisher in my cars. Just because I may not use it doesn't mean I may need to help someone else. Plus I'm just so used to having one handy like in the rally car.

I would try mounting it against the passenger side of the center console down in the footwell area. You may be able to pull back the interior there and get a good mount for it. That way it should be somewhat accessible from the driver seat but otherwise easily notices in case passengers should need to use it. Or if you don't really feel you need quick access to it or you sometimes transport little kids that may pop it try mounting it to the side of the trunk somewhere. I'm new to my LGT so I haven't found a home for mine yet, I'll probably do some serious looking before the next rally up here. Right now it's just in its plastic carriage in the right rear footwell.

Trunk for me - a mini as well.

I've started too many small fires by accident *NOT* to have one near at all times. :D

Why the trunk? I prefer to keep it out-of-sight and packaged where it won't get in the way of anything nor interfere with anyone's comfort. Certainly, it won't help if I'm trapped in the car, but I figure that I'd be screwed, in that case, anyway - and a seat-mount may nor may not have helped. It's a calculated risk that *I* chose to undertake.

Why a mini? I'm no fireman, and I'm not deluded enough to think that even a bigger tank like I have for the kitchen will save me from an all-out "car-fire." I've seen too many of those to know better. I'll just step away from the car, and call for help. :(

Mine is simply mounted through the carpeting in the trunk, behind my left wheelwell. The bottle is small enough/light enough that the bracket I made for it easily holds firm through the carpet. Even if I botched the quick-release in an emergency, I'll just tear the friggin thing out of the trunk, no problems. ;)