LegacyGT.com

State Inspection Fail due to Brakes

Precise

:icon_mad:

I went to a gas station today thats certified to give state inspections in NY (probably doesnt mean much). I went there because my mother went there yesterday to get her inspection done and it took 5 minutes and only cost her 10 bux. So I figure, wth, my inspection expires soon, i'll get it done too.

First thing he does is puts my car up on the lift and takes off my rear tire and then he calls me over. He points out that my rotor is no good and my pads in the rear need to be replaced. I'm no mechanic, but there was a ring going around the rotor that looked rough compared to the smoothness of the rest of it. I also looked at the pad and it kinda looked thin (i dont know what to compare it to though). The thing is i have 13.5K miles on the car and even if the pads are no good, the rotor should defenitely still be okay (right?). He then tells me he'll do the inspection and replace the pads and the rotors for $150. A red flag goes up, figuring he just wants to milk me for some $$ and i haul ass out of there. I'm not sure what to do or who to trust. How do i know the rotor is no good or that my brake pads need to be replaced? What do I look for, what should I do? I would go somewhere else, but if i really do need to replace what he said, they'll just fail me for inspection again, and maybe this time charge me full price for it....:icon_conf

Yeah they can generally turn the rotors if they arent complety FUBARed. Go to a Advanced or auto zone and have one of those guys look at it if you dont have a normal mechanic you trust.

:dm: 2007 DGM LGT :dm:

:icon_twis 2003 Suzuki SV650S :icon_twis

I'd definately let the dealer look at it for warranty.