LegacyGT.com

Timing belt replacement, Cams out of alignment

It's getting late and I dont have time to search anymore... Sorry if there is a thread besides this one:

http://legacygt.com/forums/showthread.php/timing-belt-replacement-2-5t-106809.html?t=106809&highlight=timing+cams

While working on my 05 Legacy GT, my driver side cams jumped out of place after releasing my auto tensioner. I was expecting this, however I wasn't expecting to not be able to get them lined up again...

As per the thread listed above, I have tried turning the cams one by one (both clockwise and Counter clockwise). I have also tried turning them simultaneously. I am STUCK. What am I doing wrong?

I am by no means a mechanic, but I do my best. I don't fully understand how this all works. Do I need to be turning the crank with the cams? I haven't tried this because my passenger side cams are lined up and I sure as hell don't want to mess with that side as well.

I am regretting not buying overpriced cam locks now. Any help would be very appreciated!

This was a headache, but this is how I did it. I ligned up the ones on the right, put the belt on them, and then I clamped the timing belt so the tension of one cam kept the other in place. Little by little I put the belt where it needs to be ensuring I kept some tension on it. I think I removed all the rollers so I had enough slack to get it on the left cams. Once it was on both sets of cams I installed the rollers and released the tension on the hydraulic tensioner. manual tension, either by a clamp or pressure is the key to keeping the cams from moving. Hope that helps...

If you're trying to align the timing marks on the belt to the timing marks on the cams, it's going to be tough. The best method is to forget about the timing marks on the belt and just align the cams. Here is what I do when replacing the belt.

1. Align the crank gear and place the belt on the gear.