LegacyGT.com

Recently got a 2005 Subaru Outback XT Limited. What now?

#1 Concern Reliability. 3/17/12 I stumbled onto a deal and a half which is why I bought this car. I was not looking turbo and was looking at 2000 and 2001 Limited Wagons. It has 124,000miles. It runs okay (somewhat of a rough idle, and a bit of a rumbling hesitation at first acceleration) but it feels great on the highway, runs smooth as can be, and has no extra scary issues. I absolutely love this wagon and the double moonroof. I know it has had the right cylinder head replaced and it doesn't leak any oil or other fluids. I am a technician and even have some ASE certifications but subarus and more importantly turbo cars/subarus are a mystery to me. I have bought a clutch(clutchmasters fx300) and flywheel(act prolite) for the car since my worn stock clutch apparently slips under heavy acceleration. Fywheel is a single mass flywheel based on 07 wrx design and clutch was ordered for 07 wrx as well. Through speaking with a representative I've known for awhile at clutchmasters he said single mass is the way to go. He did not know of my purchase of the flywheel and the difference in reciprocating weight 38lbs stock to 10lbs prolite does worry me based on driveability however I have owned a car with a prolite flywheel before. Also, I purchased a Grimmspeed uppipe and the three gaskets involved so that this can be done with the clutch since the downpipe will already be removed and out of the way. I purchased this based on the catalyst failure stories that risk turbos and motors. I dont care about making this some street beast and only went with the prolite flywheel cause of the money savings I got on it. Im used to owning 3-5 cars at a time. Currently this is my only vehicle due to tax time resulting in a 2 week period where I sold 3 cars.