LegacyGT.com

4EAT issues 1998 Legacy GT

lisabeaub

Please bare with me I'm a female with limited mechanical knowlege...I just bought this Legacy and there is a high pitch winding noise that won't go away, my first thought is trans but it was shifting fine, it only makes this noise during acceleration, going downhill or coasting it stops. He said someone told him that this was a subaru noise, I didn't buy it but its my first time owning a legacy GT to. Previously I had WRX and 2.5 rs's. So anyway 3 weeks later I started noticing from stopped position that it was jumping. I checked fluid, car running cold and is full, doesn't smell burnt, bright red and guy I purchased from said he had it flushed approx 13,000 miles ago. The car just rolled 116k miles. The power steering pump appeared to be leaking so it was replaced.

Any thoughts anyone?

Thanks for listening...

Hello, and welcome! Now, about that noise, my thoughts would be any of the following:

Accessory belts

PS pully/pump, AC compressor (mine screams)

(saw someone mentioned a timing belt / pully in your Welcome thread)

Trans or diff internal issue... could have been the reason Previous Owner flushed it

Wheel bearing

Rubbing at the wheel - dirt, brakes, etc. Since the noise is intermittent this'd be less likely, though I have a noise of my own from wheels that disappears under braking...

See if you can track it down to engine, transmission, or wheels. If you lay on the throttle in neutral, does it go away? Coasting downhill vs descending under power? Limit to 2nd, 3rd gear? If nothing else, get it (carefully!!) on four jackstands, or two + FWD fuse, and push the pedal slightly?