LegacyGT.com

So I have an 07 subaru legacy and I was just going to do the upgraded air intake sytem with the k & n filter but my friend presented me with a different idea. If I got the gt hood with the scoop could I put the air intake that sits underneath that scoop on my car. I know i don't have a turbo but would I get more power from that or should I just stick with the other upgraded intake?

Well, I think this may be in the wrong section...

And to answer you bluntly. Don't do that. Airbox currently sits in a good position in the engine bay and to buy a new hood and reroute the whole intake would be way more money than it's worth.

I won't get into it whether a upgraded intake adds power as this tends to be a hot topic, but if you want it, go for it.

I'm no expert, but as stated above the stock intake is pretty well set up and good to go, at least until serious mods start coming into play. I'd imagine routing through a GT hood scoop would only cause the air to come in warmer, should it have to go by hot engine components first. Plus the cost.

Not to mention the air intake made to go under the scoop (For N/A motors) is designed for the 2.5 with MAP sensor. Our motors have MAF sensor and they never got it to work quite right.

Also as stated above, the factory intake system is about as good as your going to get. It's hard to believe I know, your head doesn't want you to comprehend that a factory intake could possibly be more efficient than an aftermarket. But it's already as far from the motor as it could get, is fully enclosed to further shield from heat, and has the induction scoop for that "Ram Air" effect.

If you REALLY want to do something to the intake, even just for show, pick up a carbon fiber box "scoop". JP Carbon sells them for $150