LegacyGT.com

The COMPLETE beginner's guide to e-tuning (with a vendor and VAG-COM cable)

Adoniram

This guide is to help anyone get their car e-tuned, even if you've never done it before. Specifically, this is for the layman who purchased tuning service from a vendor and just needs the basic information to do his/her part in order to get his/her car tuned.

IMPORTANT: Tune your car at your own risk!

http://www.scriptlogic.com/images/icons/windows-logo.pngWindows 7 Users CLICK HERE (including x64)

ALSO IMPORTANT: I have based this guide completely on my own experience. I purchased a Stage 2 tune from Infamous Performance, specifically through m sprank. They have been very helpful dealing with all my questions, and I highly recommend their products and services.

My setup:

(to help you determine how useful this info will be for you)

2005 Legacy GT Limited 5EAT

VAG-COM cable

GT Spec EL headers & uppipe, CNT catted downpipe, K&N air filter

Laptop with Windows XP SP3

***Windows 7 Users should click here for Win 7 instructions!

HOW-TO:

Preliminary Setup: Steps 1-20

1. Resist the urge to simply plug-and-play! When I bought the VAG-COM cable, I also received a CD that had everything I needed to get the tune complete. Unfortunately, I didn't realize that and ended up running into roadblocks right away. Slow down and follow these steps to avoid a major headache.

2. Using the CD provided, install EcuFlash 1.29 (the file was called ecuflash_setup129a.exe)

*You can also download EcuFlash 1.29 by clicking here

3. Open EcuFlash, plug the VAG-COM cable into the computer. (You may wish to have the other end plugged into the car to test for functionality)

4. The "Found Device Wizard" should show up (might also be a pop-up for "Found new hardware"). The first thing my computer wanted to install was the USB Bus.