LegacyGT.com

My First AUTOCROSS is coming up!!! Any helpful tips are welcome!

Hey guys,

I have been attending SCCA AutoX events for the past 3 years spectating and riding along with friends in their cars. I am also currently building a 1983 Mazda Rx-7 12a specifically for club racing but it is not yet functional. Now that I have a capable car ('05 LGT), I am going to try my hand at some racing for the first time. THIS SUNDAY (April 18th 2010) is the first points event of the season.

My Car Currently (D Stock Class):

Stock Everything

Nexen N5000 (420 treadwear) tires on Stock 17" wheels

Mod Goals for next season (STU class):

Dunlop Direzza High Performance Summer Tires (or equivalent)

Rota Gravels in Hyper Black

Stage 1 Mickeyd tune

Front Whiteline swaybar

Kartboy bushing inserts

Koni struts (from a local shop Turn In Concepts)

Tein H-Tech Springs OR Rallitek

Hawk HP+ pads

Based on the aformentioned, I am wondering what to expect this Sunday as far as Stock performance goes. I am also wondering what aspects of handling will improve as I progress through my list of mods. Also in general what quirks does the LGT exhibit through your experience? Lift off oversteer? Lots of Understeer? Is the car easy to counteract understeer with more throttle? Etc.. Etc.. Etc... Your opinions are greatly appreciated! AND I will continue updating this thread as I progress through the season and hopefully into my mods next year.

Look ahead, do the novice coure walk + a few with your buddies, take an instructor with you. Can even let the intructor do a run so you can see what your car can do and just see how they drive it to learn (doesnt take away a run from you).

Just stay in D-Stock, add the konis, get a dedicated set of rims and DOT race tires and the front strut bar. The tires alone are worth more then any other modification you can do except the driver mod.