LegacyGT.com

stage 2 question - long road trip bad?

Tyrone Biggums

a week after the install? here's the deal - if i can get an install appointment at king of parts i will go stage 2 this weekend. i have decided on the cobb catted downpipe, still unsure about which up to get, and thats all i plan to have installed at this time.

would it be bad to go on a 1400 mile roadtrip about a week after the install? noob here, and while i did a bunch of searches i couldnt find exactly what i was looking for.

on another note, can anyone suggest an up? i've searched, read reviews, and narrowed it down to the following choices: Invidia, Perrin, or HKS

any advice / suggestions / comments appreciated

wa da tah my damie

Just keep an ear open for leaks and check your boost level with the AP or gauge. Once you hit stage 2 boost levels your more likely to blow off some hoses. You should zip tie or metal clamp (don't over tighten) the hose connections on the blue t connector under the intercooler and where the hose off the blue t connects to the manifold. Mine all blew off once I hit 17psi.

^ those heat shields have been known to rattle. The quality of the Invidia is worth the extra $70-$90 for a new better quality aftermarket part IMO.

What makes it better quality? I don't get the point of spending more on a pipe that's the same diameter, and losing the heatshields and increasing your underhood temps?

$100 for the MR isn't bad...

What makes it better quality? I don't get the point of spending more on a pipe that's the same diameter, and losing the heatshields and increasing your underhood temps?

$100 for the MR isn't bad...

:lol: