LegacyGT.com

96 legacy L 2.2 MT upgrade help?

Hello I am Ryan,

I have a 96 legacy L with the 2.2L MT and I want to get more power out of it without damaging dependability. I have 2000 bucks to do upgrades within this budget and I need Ideas from people who have already done this. CAI is already on its way but other ideas such as has anyone done the 2.5 computer swap with any improvements? Doing it myself is not an issue as that I am a tech but Ideas are appreciated,

Well, the 2.2 5mt cars came with a 3.90 geared tranny. If you can find a 5MT out of a 2.5L subaru, you can get the 4.11 geared tranny. Lots more fun to drive :)

But you would need the rear differential and hydraulic clutch components.

This is a more extreme and expensive route, but hey...

Also, a lot of people report issues with the CAI on subarus.

Check the stickies at the top, there is an entire list of things you can do

If you are trying to get more power- swap motors to a wrx or other boosted variant. else that $2000 will turn into $6000 and you still wont be where you want to be...

depending on the setup, a CAI may end up more detrimental to your goals than anything, you will need a hybrid setup to get any positive response.

Absolutely no benefit with a 2.5 ECU..

I would decide if you want to go for a turbo swap or an NA build... if the latter, you could build a high compression motor or even grind the cams for more TQ or HP..

this link will give you some other potential ideas for upgrades

Hello I am Ryan,

I have a 96 legacy L with the 2.2L MT and I want to get more power out of it without damaging dependability. I have 2000 bucks to do upgrades within this budget and I need Ideas from people who have already done this. CAI is already on its way but other ideas such as has anyone done the 2.5 computer swap with any improvements? Doing it myself is not an issue as that I am a tech but Ideas are appreciated,