LegacyGT.com

Photo/video bad drivers while on the road (info)

TheWeatherWarrior

First let me say I'm not a lawyer, but I believe I have a hold on this since I use to have a website and did a little research before posting many of my captures of bad driving.

From the other (now locked thank god) thread to answer a fundamental question:

Yes, it is completely legal for someone to take your picture or video tape you.

HOWEVER, there are some aspects you need to be aware of.

-only on public roads or roads that had more than 50% paid by public funds (sometimes HOA roads are co-funded).

-private roads/parking areas that are public accessible generally require permission to film. However, as long as you don't make the business (like a mall) get featured in the video (blur the name of stores and mall title) there isn't really any damages they can sue for. They can order off their property and give you a no trespassing order (this has never happened as far as I know).

-they can only use the video for personal purposes, or editorial purposes.

-they cannot use your personal image if it is in a feature film or project where you make up a significant part of the scene and are easily recognizeable. It requires a release with your signature. (This is not likely ever going to be the case of someone taking your picture for driving badly).

-any image, photo, video is copyright the owner, and you have zero rights to the image (this in fact would include reposting it on a forum or website without permission of the owner).

-audio is tricky. If you are just yelling at the camera person...that isn't protected, however it should be obvious that you are being recorded. They don't have to announce it, but if it is concealed, then (in Maryland at least) it is illegal. If you are recording someone...I suggest announcing that you are recording video and audio (announce it while rolling video...so it's recorded).