LegacyGT.com

Gas Light... How far?

Well being a poor student I have come to a point that I have ride the gas light until I get paid again.

How far have you gone on your gas light?

So far I've gone 20 miles and I'm glad that I don't need to go anywhere else until payday.

I've run mine very, very low on gas - like half a gallon remaining. My best estimate is that true zero on the gas gauge is when the needle touches the peg. I've run mine below the lowest tick mark and into the E. The gas light is very sporadic in mine. Sometimes it comes on with an eighth of a tank left, sometimes it comes on much later.

YOUR MILEAGE MAY VARY

Easy way to find out. carry a tank of gas with you when you're at the "E" or gas light. Reset trip meter and drive until you run out of gas, mark mileage.

***Disclaimer***:

Running your car out of gas may cause your fuel filter to plug, or eat your pump.

My gas light has only worked a few times in the 6 years I have had the car, but when it did I had over 2 gallons of gas left. Car makers try to have the light come on when you have around 50 miles before you run out. It wouldn't be much help if the light came on one minute before you ran out of gas!

My gas light has only worked a few times in the 6 years I have had the car, but when it did I had over 2 gallons of gas left. Car makers try to have the light come on when you have around 50 miles before you run out. It wouldn't be much help if the light came on one minute before you ran out of gas!

This is a pretty close estimate, depending on what kind of driving you do.

I use a digital trip meter that runs through my OBD II and it has a "miles to zero" gauge which comes in handy. Unfortunately, these tanks don't hold a round number of gallons (gauge asks for tank size) so the reading isn't always accurate.

258k miles - Stock engine/minor suspension upgrades/original shocks/rear struts replaced at 222k/4 passenger side wheel bearings/3 clutches/1 radiator/3 turbos