LegacyGT.com

Front right wheel/tire makes noise

Hey so I don't want to sound dumb, but I might. My car makes a like knocking/popping sound when I creep over big bumps, potholes and sometimes when I turn left. It sort of sounds like the front passenger wheel is rattling around in the wheel well. I know it's not rubbing anything. I believe it is a suspension problem, maybe a wheel bearing or something. Anyway I'm new to Subaru's and not sure what it is. Anybody got an idea of what may be making my wheel make this noise? Let me know when you get a chance. I want to address this issue and get it fixed. Thanks.

Have you checked the axle boots (CV Joints) under the car? If they tear open, dirt and grime gets into the universal joints and dries them out and eventually destroys them.

In other words, do you have this problem:

http://www.aa1car.com/library/cvboot_torn.jpg

• 3 weeks later...
I looked under the car and noticed that the boots on my CV joints were in tact and not torn. I'm thinking that it might be a loose strut. I know the struts are in need of getting replaced. I want to know for sure though what could possibly be making the noise. What do you mean exactly by bushing play?

• 3 months later...
No I haven't taken it in or anything bc I'm a little broke right now, but I'm thinking it may be broken strut mount along with bad struts. I know I need to get those replaced so when i get that done (hopefully here soon) I will solve the problem. If you get yours fix or diagnosed before I do you should let me know what the problem was. That would be much appreciated and I will do the same.

Stuff like this can be serious. Get it checked out by someone who knows what they are doing. Stuff can break and cause an accident (remember the last time you saw a car on the side of the road with the wheel bent under it?). Take public transit until you know what is wrong and how serious it is before you kill yourself or someone else.
It is still ugly.

• I Donated