LegacyGT.com

New to driving stick. Is this a problem?

So I am brand new to stick driving. Incidentally I purchased the LegGT with a short throw shifter. I picked it up pretty easy, no pro yet, but I am getting there. Anyways...should the stick be vibrating/wiggling slightly when it is in gear? I am used to an A/T that obviously doesn't wiggle or anything while you drive.

pretty brave of you to come new on stick with a brand new car. its good that your picking it up (i wanted stick but my area makes it a pain in the ass, stop and go traffic). too late now but if i were you i wouldve praticed stick on a peice of shit car before going right into a new one. but u say ur getting hte hang of it, glad to hear that.

pretty brave of you to come new on stick with a brand new car. its good that your picking it up (i wanted stick but my area makes it a pain in the ass, stop and go traffic). too late now but if i were you i wouldve praticed stick on a peice of shit car before going right into a new one. but u say ur getting hte hang of it, glad to hear that.

Funny you say that...

My sister has been bugging me to teach her stick. After she said, just teach me in the LGT.... :eek: Well, I had a few choice words concerning new stick drivers and "my" LGT. Learning stick is like learning to ride a bike, some people get it really quick and others just need more practice. Practicing on the LGT is not a good idea, IMHO.

Another piece of advice:

Don't rest your left foot at the clutch pedal, even a little pressure there caused by your foot weight, can cause premature stress in the clutch itself...

Bottom line: Only use your left foot when you are actually changing gears!!!!

Cheers and congrats on your new purchase - post some pics and let us know where you are from....

Flavio Zanetti

Boston, MA

Congrats!

And yet another tip - our LGTs seem to take better to gentle shifts.