LegacyGT.com

Overheating not sure what it is

I blew my water pump on my 96 legacy L had that replaced along with the timing belt. Yet it still will slowly overheat, if I turn up the temp on the dash it will stay at normal I don't even have to turn on my fans. Other than that it runs fine. A few people have told me maybe a vapor lock, or something about the heater core not getting any fluid. Im new to Subaru only have had it for 2 weeks and one week it was in the shop, Any thing would help.

Thank you

Sent from my SM-N900T using Tapatalk

welcome to the forums and look up how to purge air from the cooling system. What does your heater do when you turn it on and drive around? Is the thermostat from Subaru or aftermarket (I'm assuming it was changed with the water pump)?

I think it's a stock thermostat and when I turn on my heater it drives like it should temp stays in the middle and she drives fine. I don't even need to turn the fan on. And I'll look that up

Sent from my SM-N900T using Tapatalk

Once you get all of the air and if it still wants to over heat try this. You didn't say you replaced the thermostat but if you didn't I would replace it with a oem one. BUT before you do you might want to check for blown headgaskets. There's a testing tool for checking for hydrocarbons you can rent for Oreillys and you just fill the tool with the testing fluid and when the engines up to temp and radiator cap off you hold the tester over the radiator and the fluid inside the tool with chance color if hydrocarbons are present in the coolant. This test is really easy to do and will save from buying unneeded parts.