LegacyGT.com

A/C Temp fluctuating

Hey I'm new to the whole Legacy scene and I was wondering if it is normal for the A/C to blow really cold and then just mildly cold?? Just the temp changes not the fan speed.

Thanks for any help in advance.

Notice a correlation between temp and engine load? Mine fluctuates based on engine load, which I assume is normal, tho it does it more any other car I've owned.
MODS: PW TMIC, Cobb catted DP, HKS cat-back, AVO filter, Bren e-tune; Konis/Epics, Advan RCII

Mine has always sucked. I remember a thread with other people commenting that theirs was not that great as well.

Now if it's good sometimes and sometimes it is not that great it may just be a higher outside temp and humidity issue?

Thanks for the response. But everything you all have said doesn't match what mine does. It's ice cold for 60 sec and then semi-cool for about 30 sec (seems longer because its 105 degrees outside). This happens no matter what the temp is outside, no matter if the car is sitting sit or I'm cruising down the freeway. By the response I'm getting, I'm guessing this is not normal. I think I'll have it checked out.

The AC system on these cars is really small, so it doesn't have much cooling capacity. With mine, the low AC refrigerant volume makes the system cycle on/off too much, even with the refrigerant amount set absolutely spot on. When it cycles off, there is no refrigerant flow, so the evaporator temp goes up, and vent temp goes up.

Best way I've found to get the AC to be consistently cold on hot days is to keep the engine speed low. 1500rpm seems to be the butter zone. Lower than that and the compressor can't move enough refrigerant. Higher than that, and it moves too much refrigerant, makes too much of a pressure drop across the oriface and makes the compressor cycle off. And at idle, switch the AC to recirculate.