LegacyGT.com

"Affordable" autocross tires- suggestions?

roundthirteen

I know the title is an oxymoron but I ran the SCCA/Evolution class yesterday and may get into autocrossing. I ran the class on my daily driver 225/18 Conti Extreme Contacts DWS's which were ok but seemed really squirmy. I also don't want to kill my DD tires and I have a spare set of 17" wheels laying around so I was looking at "Max Summer Performance" tires on Tire Rack (can't afford Star Specs) and was wondering if anyone had experience with-

Hankook Ventus V12 evo's

Kumho Ecsta LE Sport's

I don't need anything awesome seeing I'm a newb and tires aren't going to be a big game changer at this point.

Thanks

My car's not a sleeper it's a hibernator.

http://pure-tuning.com

I will probably get flamed but I've heard people say that federal 595 tires perform fairly well on tracks. I've only read this but it's worth looking into they won't be as good as the big name brands I am sure. I might try them because they are so cheap and I can't afford to burn through 800 dollars in tires every summer. Onlinetires.com has them for under 100 a piece. If they are really terrible it's not a huge waste of money.

all the suggestions in this thread thus far stink at autox. Max performance tires are not good enough.

OP if you have a spare set of 17's for autox, get the bf-goodridge g-force rivals. the are THE best autox street tire you can buy and at only $149 per tire, the price cant be beat.

http://www.tirerack.com/tires/tires.jsp?tireMake=BFGoodrich&tireModel=g-Force+Rival&partnum=245WR7GFR&vehicleSearch=false&fromCompare1=yes

I runt this exact size on my MX-5 and they are downright spectacular. I reccoment nothing less. Noob or not, dont skimp on tires.