LegacyGT.com

Just got 05 Legacy GT turbo, scared now.

I just traded my last love affair with Toyota 13 days ago and I regret it so much right now... Is my regret a mistake?

This is going to be a lot to read but I tried sectioning it off, so if you're a skimmer just skip to the last part.

I've been driving a Geo Prism (AKA Toyota Corolla) for the last 7 years, I purchased it with a salvage title (Smashed in hood that still latched and really bad front struts) for 2,400. For the life of the car I had only replace one wheel bearing (34$ junkyard), a passenger side window (50$ junkyard), one set of front rotors (AutoZone for around 80$), normal brake pad replacements when the squealing just about stopped, and oil changes always way way way to late.

Last month it started dying in reverse at low speeds.

I saw an 01 Legacy GT 5-speed for sale at a local dealership and scheduled a test drive. Loved it, the head gaskets and timing had just been done so I wasn't worried (I don't know much about Subaru's other than the 2.5 was prone to head gasket problems). I finished the drive and was ready to sign when bad news arrived from the bank, I was denied a loan based on the age of the vehicle! The finance guy told me I was in luck because they had another car they think I could get financed and they just traded for it while I was driving the 01 Legacy. I told him no thanks (thinking it'd be even older or just shitty), he convinced me to wait and to my surprise it was an 05 Legacy.

It had all the badges but the Subaru emblems taken off, I get in and it's the 5-speed with black leather (already melting). Start the drive and can't keep it from going sideways... it's the turbo, oh boy!

(should they have more power in the rear?)

I am just overjoyed at the car and made the decision to buy it than (I've never been so impulsive on a car!) They offered me $2,500 for my car bringing the price of the 05 Legacy (after trade) to $7,400.