LegacyGT.com

Sway bar recommendations for stock springs

sactojesse

I'm planning on keeping the stock springs and ride height on my LGT wagon. The lack of ground clearance is already an issue with my Hidden Hitch tow hitch. My apologies for posting what seems to be a fairly common question, but not all of the experiences I have read pertain to stock ride height vehicles. I've read many threads here on aftermarket sway bars and their various fit issues. Plus, there seems to be conflicting opinions regarding just about every brand of aftermarket sway bars. What sway bars would you recommend for reducing body roll while not drastically degrading ride quality? I'm willing to accept some degradation in ride quality for a sportier feel. I'm also not afraid of oversteer. I've been driving modified air-cooled VWs for 20+ years, so I'm comfortable with trailing throttle and power-induced oversteer.

Once again, please keep in mind that I intend to keep the stock springs. I'm open to running just an upgraded RSB or a matched set, depending on responses. I also plan to reinforce the rear sway bar mounts and may or may not run stock endlinks depending on your suggestions. Thanks in advance for your replies.

My only concern with the JDM 20mm RSB is whether it is a significant enough improvement over the USDM 16 mm RSB. If the change is noticeably better, I may go with the JDM RSB. If not, I'm open to suggestions, including AVO or IPD RSBs or a matched set of larger FSB and RSB (Cobb, Cusco, Whiteline, IPD, etc.).

But! the JDM 20mm is hollow. About the equivalent of an 18mm solid, if my info & calculations are correct.

About 107% improvement over our original 15mm (LOB) bar.

About 60% over a 16mm bar (which was itself a noticeable improvement over the 15).

06LOB2.5i MT, JDMRSB, GYTTs, HPS, LGT Mufflers & Leather Wheel, SubiMomo Knob, Inalfa Moonroof, Clutch Switch Bypass, DeDRLd, DeChimed, & Straight Headrest.