LegacyGT.com

tired of the yearly tire buy.

Jerboa113

guys, I'm getting so frustrated with my Toyo Proxes 4s.. sure they handle great, have less road noise than stock and look cool, they USED TO BE cheap.. but since edgeracing has gone under I cant find them for cheap.

anyway.. I rotate them every other oil change. which is just front to back because of the directional tread.. They only last about 20k miles which puts me at 1 set a year OR LESS.. I'm exhausted by the yearly tire purchase.. is there a tire out there that is just as good, but lasts maybe 40k miles or so??

I daily drive on city roads more than anything, but I am an aggressive driver and cant be slipping and sliding around.

thanks yall.. Its tire time again.. I can probably slide around on these for a few months but I need to start deciding now.

"The penalty good men pay for indifference to public affairs is to be ruled by evil men." - Plato

• Replies 50
  • Created
  • Last Reply
Tires in the AS Michelin line have some good wear ratings. I don't know your tire size but I'll use the popular 225/45R17 as an example. Pilot Sport AS's are rated at 500 and a few of the others are rated around 300-340. Road grip will probably be just as good at Proxes if not better, IMO.

I have oem rims and tire size. I thought about changing that to 18s but.. I never have.. and dont really have any realistic plans to do that.

I'll look into the michelins. I usually pass up a brand like that.. for whatever reason when I think of michelin I think of SUVs and trucks.. not so much passenger cars.. performance oriented vehicles never even cross my mind with the brand recognition.. but moreso than not, this car is a commuter..

"The penalty good men pay for indifference to public affairs is to be ruled by evil men." - Plato

So you never heard of Michelin Pilot Sport PS2, Pilot Exalto PE2, Exalto A/S, Pilot A/S Plus?

Or Pilot Alpin or Primacy Alpin?