LegacyGT.com

Just bought a 97 GT

And think I got screwed pretty hard.

I'm a formally educated engine builder, and am ridiculously intimate with the Ford Mustang. This is my first Subaru, and thought it would be fun to build a rally car inspired vehicle. Looked for a few weeks, and came across a white 1997 Legacy 2.5GT, or so it was badged...

It ran nicely, and drove nicely, but I wasn't expecting much performance, going from 400WHP V8's to "165hp" rated 4cylinders. So I bought it, knocked him down $400 off his initial listing.

I got it home, and was messing around in the fairly clean engine bay, (161,000 miles), and noticed EJ22. I then just about hit the floor. This was NOT a 2.5L DOHC engine, but a 2.2L SOHC.

Everywhere I have read, these Subaru's are like legos, and most everything bolts to most everything else with subtle differences. I'm not worried because of this one "fact," however, the engine has a slight knocking at start up. (The bastard warmed the car knowing this goes away during warm.) I now am going to have to put an engine build together faster than what I wanted to.

So I'm wondering, what would the purpose be, to drop to an engine that is rated at 50 horsepower less? I walked the junkyard, and here in Houston, the south east LQK was void of Subaru, any and all! So I'll have to source my engine build elsewhere.

Hoping for as little flames as possible, as I'm needing to ask if there is an article I can be pointed to, that defines the differences of the EJ engines? My biggest concern is to find a closed deck, but I'm having a hard time with the search function, without knowing what to search for...

• Moderators

Others much more knowledgeable than me will chime in I'm sure, but in general a lot of folks really like the EJ22 engines--not sure for your application though.