LegacyGT.com

noob here with q's...

just bought a 08 legacy 2.5i, was a r56 mini cooper s guy for a few years loved the dang thing but the economy forced me to change some things around. one being the car payment. i literally cut my cost in half..buying a 08 legacy with 27k miles. I think I got a pretty good deal. paid 15.9 for it. with 100k warranty. that said...

I have only owned the car for 3 days so far...really like the solid feel of the drive i must say but would like to stiffen it up a bit with out mucking up my warranty. ( i know this sound funny ) ideas? i know rallytek has swaybars and links for a decent price but anybody here that has done them?

Also the engine start up seems rough for the first 10 seconds. as it gradually increases rpm's to ~1600. is this normal?

thanks, nick.

I think the rough engine start up is normal - I know for PZEV models the engine will run at a higher RPM initially to warm everything up (I think this has something to do with warming the catalytic converters up because they work better warm). Mine is "rough" in the beginning as well.

As for handling/swaybars, I am interested in seeing what others have to say as I am also interested in doing this.

Yeap, I got:

1) Rallitek front/rear sway bar kit

2) AVO rear endlinks

3) Swift Sport springs

4) Koni front/rear struts

Car handles much better than stock, very solid feeling all the way around. Body roll has been eliminated. The pitching/diving of the car upon acceleration and braking is gone. I love it! I would suggest going for a rear sway bar first, then deciding whether or not you need a front sway bar.