LegacyGT.com

missfire after hg and belt

Hey guys, I'm new to Subarus and this forum, maybe someone out there can help me.

Here it is: Did head gaskets, had the heads redone, valves cut to match seats, and adjusted.

I have a miss in number 2 cyl. Registers 150 psi in that cyl and injector pulse is present.

I changed the injector, and installed new NGK iridium plugs. And yes, i have good spark after 2500 rpms.

There is no miss at that RPM, but at idle there is, but no loss of power.

So is it possible I'm off a tooth on the belt? Engine starts up fine.

Where do i go from here? Thanks for any help you can give me guys

Why doesn't anyone ever use proper grammar and sentence structure anymore? The amount of times I had to read some parts of that....

How bad is the misfire? Is it a little non-audible one? A massive engine shaking one? Or something in between? Do you here it? Or do you know because a check engine light came on and you read the code? Did you find out by pulling a wire to see if there was a difference in the way it ran?

Is the misfire there only after the car has warmed up and been running for a bit? If so, there is more than likely an issue being picked up by a sensor somewhere as that's when the ECU starts making decisions base on it's readings.

What method did you use while installing the timing belt? Assuming your 96 GT still has it's 2.5 still, look up a diagram for an EJ25D and make sure everything matches up completely. I you're off a tooth, depending on how much this can cause issues either right when the motor is started or after its warmed up.

Check everywhere for any vacuum leaks at all. A leak can cause a misfire, and sometimes a pretty bad one.

150 psi is a little low for the 96 2.5 as it should be in the 170 plus range. What were the reading on the rest of the cylinders?