LegacyGT.com

2005 center differential gone

At 79,000 miles I started hearing something like card in spokes noise when slowing down/coming to a stop. I took it to Subaru of Dallas and they told me it was my central differential. Long story short and $1,620 out of my pocket, my car is back to normal. The differential was rebuild, not replaced and transmission/clutch (5MT) were good.

The service advisor told me that something like that is caused by having too much torque on the differential ex. me doing donuts or racing the car. Now...I don't race the car or do donuts, I'm just a normal driver. I asked them what else could have caused the differential to brake but they kept on telling me that I was driving the car too hard.

So..does anyone have any ideas on why this happened?

About 1 week before I took the car to the dealer, it was towed from where it was parked. I think it was towed using 2 wheel dollies on the front wheels but don't know if it was left in gear or not (I was out of town and my wife took the car). The day after it was towed I heard a new noise I hadn't heard before. About 4 days later I started hearing the card in the spokes noise.

Does anyone have any thoughts about this? Does anyone think this may be related?

Sounds to me like the the problem with with the tow. This is exactly the issue that can happen to the car if it is not towed properly (ie - all 4 wheels off the ground). Seen it happen to a friend of mine. His got towed becuase he was illegally parked and the tow truck towed it with the rear wheels on the ground. Hey said byby to the center diff as well. thake the invocie to the tow company and try and work out a deal with them.

Ben (2014 Outback SAP w/ eyesite, 2014 Tribeca Limited, 2006 LGT limited sedan)

Subaru Ambassador PNW