LegacyGT.com

P0011 and P0021 code with engine problem

So, I'm new to the forum and a new owner of a used 06 Legacy GT. The car has run fine for the 2 months I have owned it. Today, driving in traffic the CEL and blinking cruise light came on. There were no odd engine noises, but I noticed a definite lack of power. Engine code reader says something regarding cam timing (p0011 and p0021.) I read a few posts and did the easy things. Changed oil and removed and cleaned the oil valves. No improvement. The car idles fine, no misses, no strange noises, just not the usual power of a GT. The turbo was replaced by Subaru about 6000 miles ago due to a faulty waste gate (previous owner.). I'm new to LGT's and just looking for help or suggestions. I am trying to avoid a trip to the dealer for diagnostics. Thanks!

Do not start the engine until you pull the down pipe and check to turbo for shaft play.

Most likely the banjo filter is full of crap and blocking the turbo for getting oil.

305,600miles 5/2012 ej257 short block, 8/2011 installed VF52 turbo, @20.8psi, 280whp, 300ftlbs. (SOLD).  CHECK your oil, these cars use it.

Engine Build - Click Here

I just had both CELs trip on me last week (car is currently garaged).

I pulled the DP and my turbo has shaft play. Seriously check your turbo for any shaft play.

As far as I can gather from these codes and a few days of research is that P0011 and P0021 trip when the cams can not advance into higher timings. The cams in this engine are oil driven, if they can not advance, it means that the oil pressure is likely low. Low oil pressure becomes a very bad problem very quickly in these cars. I would highly suggest you do not drive it and do not put it into boost until a dealership or knowledgeable shop can take a look at it.