LegacyGT.com

Son of a.....

jdanhires

My LGT had a high speed vibration, much like a out of balance tire. So, I dropped it off at the dealer to have the tires balanced. I just got a call from the service manager, and it turns out I have two bent rims. On a car with 3K miles. The SM says he can't replace the rims under warranty since the damage could have been caused by a pothole, a stiff wind or a steel plate.

So, what do I do? Get two more OEM rims (hopefully used from the classifieds) or go after market?

I've been driving for 16 years and have never, ever had a bent rim. Let alone two on the same car.

John

Yes, I too have experienced the bent rim. I couldn't remeber hitting a single thing. Ended up going with a wheel taken off a new Legacy at the dealership. Wheel and tire $200. I think that I have a front wheel problem now. It is not quite as smooth as it should be. I was told it is due to the low profile tires which is BS. My Mini Cooper S has the low profile and no problems. I am thinking that I will look into aftermarket if I have any other rim problems

Well the stiff wind was my attempt at humor. The SM actually said the steel plates they put on the roadway could bend the rims. WTF?

So, Subaru is sending the district rep out to look at the car and (possibly) authorize a warranty replacement. I'm not holding my breath, though.

With the crappy RE92s, and the possibility of more bent rims in the future, I'm strongly considering aftermarket rims. Talked to Subydude about the Rota's and the price isn't too bad. Tires.com has a MBMotoring rim with tire combo for $800. Anyone know anything about those rims?

John

FWIW, the Prodrive P1's are about as 'bombproof' as they come. They will run you about 40% more than the Rota's (but still cheaper than OEM from the dealer) and have a nicer finish and more of a factory fit (53mm offset vs. 48mm).