LegacyGT.com

OMG They Keep Getting Heavier! - LGT Model Year & Trim Differences

cyniclaus

OK, so lighter is not always better, but I am having a hard time seeing the value in the ballooning weight of the LGT (and most other modern cars for that matter). Is there something just so awesome in the newer cars that justifies the ever-increasing weight and would compell me to buy a 3530-lb '08 specB vs a 3300-lb '05 LGT? If there is, please let me know!

Anyway, I will probably be buying an LGT next month. I am a performance-oriented driver, so a MT is a must. I am looking at a 2006 LGT (non specB). I say '06 because the '07 weighs 50 lbs more for no justifiable reason (3415 vs 3365). What are we paying for? SI-Drive so I can dumb down my throttle response whenever I get the urge?

In fact, I am tempted to pick up a non-limited 2005 model, since it only weighs 3300lbs. That way I would not have to deal with the extra weight and loss of rigidity from the sunroof. One problem: I love leather seats; I have beautifully fitting European Recaros in both my current cars. The LTD has leather, but they are both heated and powered, two features that do nothing for me other than add weight. Anyway, is there anything else that the LTD has other than the seats and sunroof that explain/justify its 65-lb weight increase over the base GT? Do both cars have auto climate control, because I have heard it is a lot easier to go aftermarket on the stereo if you have manual A/C.

I was looking for a sticky in this forum that had all the differences in the base trims and available packages over the years...could be helpful to prospective buyers?

All my weights came off MSN car research; I don't know how accurate they are but the relative differences are probably close enough for the sake of argument.

• Replies 59
  • Created
  • Last Reply