LegacyGT.com

Tore down engine, noticeable problems? (pics)

This is a 2005 Legacy GT, 116k, apparently with the ej257 block.

See Whats wrong with my car - video inside for details

Tore the engine down because of the noise, figured I would do head gaskets regardless. Having a loud valve type noise from the driver's side, quieter version of the same from the passenger side. Didn't sound like rod knock, couldn't really hear much from the block (screwdriver to ear noise test ha). I've had an engine with rod knock before, sounds a bit different, but I'm no pro.

Anyway, took some photos of the cylinders and heads, anything stand out? There is some minor scoring in one cylinder, other than that I'm not sure. Cross hatching looks good everywhere. Going to get the heads inspected this week.

Head 1

http://i7.photobucket.com/albums/y271/shankskank/Legacy%20GT/LGTEngine3_zps62cb2c25.jpg

Head 2

http://i7.photobucket.com/albums/y271/shankskank/Legacy%20GT/LGTEngine4_zpsacb101e0.jpg

Cylinder with scoring - can't feel the scoring by touch

http://i7.photobucket.com/albums/y271/shankskank/Legacy%20GT/LGTEngine2_zps3472ef18.jpg

http://i7.photobucket.com/albums/y271/shankskank/Legacy%20GT/LGTEngine6_zpsefb18570.jpg

http://i7.photobucket.com/albums/y271/shankskank/Legacy%20GT/LGTEngine5_zpse12e2b1f.jpg

http://i7.photobucket.com/albums/y271/shankskank/Legacy%20GT/LGTEngine1_zps38d01060.jpg

have you PM dave aka, cryo his a tuner close to you.

He may be some help.

I can't view the pitures here at work.

I have pictures of my old block at 154,000 miles in my click here link.

305,600miles 5/2012 ej257 short block, 8/2011 installed VF52 turbo, @20.8psi, 280whp, 300ftlbs. (SOLD).  CHECK your oil, these cars use it.

Engine Build - Click Here

Thanks! I actually just started talking to him a couple weeks ago regarding tuning. I have a BNR16G and a turboback ready plus a few more things that he'll tune up for me hopefully.