LegacyGT.com

What's the minimal mod for body roll?

jk

If my question reflects ignorance, that's accurate. I am a novice at this stuff. I got a wrx several years ago and enjoyed it. Now I'm pleased with my LGT wagon but feel uncomfortable with the body roll. I'm not looking for major changes in handling, just less body roll. I've been reading the various threads in this forum but have been unable to learn enough to answer my question. I thought I had deduced that a bigger rear swaybar was the minimal intervention, but then saw warnings that this could lead to unspecified but bad consequences. Anyway, I'd appreciate advice.

[quote name='Deer Killer']Don't turn as hard? :P[/quote] Doctor, it hurts when I do this.... From my limited knowledge, I would say swaybars, strut tower braces, and springs would be the minimal changes you could do to reduce roll. Of course there are trade-offs with every mod you will perform. IIRC, a stiffer rear sway bar will make the rear end more likely to step out on you in a serious turn (oversteer). From what I have read, the default settings for most cars is to promote understeer. This is supposed to be safer for most drivers.

Strut Tower Bars (STBs) really just stiffen up the chassis. Their effect on body roll is minimal from my observations. My last car had them and they made a significant difference in chassis feel, but they didn't reduce body roll. Sway bar, will reduce some, but possibly at the cost of snap-oversteer. The tendency to suddenly break while making a corner at decent speed. Sway bars are good, but just don't get too extravagant with them and their settings. Springs for the most part is what will help reduce sway. The body after all ride upon these and a stiffer spring will rotate less with weight transfer. It will also help reduce nose lift and dive under acceleration and deceleration respectively.