LegacyGT.com

How to wash your car 101

This is something I did not see here and thought would help some out. While I am no expert I know a few detailers and this is also from a few years of experience. When my car first came off the ship from Japan and sat on the docks, covered in mud, oil and all sort of horrible stuff my first reaction was to tell the importers to refund my money! He assured me that it will be fine and had his detailer go with me to collect the car and take it to get cleaned up.

Now here in Trinidad the ambient temperature is always 30c+ often with lots and lots and lots of sunlight. Imagine all that nasty stuff on the car, baked on! First thing to always remember, no matter how tempting it is ( remember when you were a kid and drew smiley faces on your moms dirty car! ) DON'T TOUCH THE CAR! Immediately he poured cold water all over the door handle, placed two paper sheets on the floor and seats and drove to the exit gate where he opened the door to pass the guard the release papers ( don’t wind the windows down! ), then asked if he could use the water hose just outside that they water the plants with. We sprayed water and without touching tried to wash off what ever we could before proceeding on. 20 min later we drove to his shop and the real work began.