LegacyGT.com

Alright im getting some winter tires for my 99 Legacy GT. I only bought the car a few weeks ago and I am pretty new to subaru. The stock tire is 205/55/16. I was thinking I would get a bit bigger tire for larger contact patch in the snow. Does anyone know if a 205/60/16 would fit okay? It calculates to a half inch increase it tire size. What does everyone think?.. or know? lol. Thanks a bunch for your help :)

Edit: Also I am running the stock snowflake 16s.

• Replies 54
  • Created
  • Last Reply
Measure the distance inbetween your tires now and the bottom of the strut tower and see how much clearence you have there, and then you will know if they will fit without spacers. I couldn't run 215/60 R16 on my car because they rubbed (I'm not sure about the 205/60R16)

you'd want to run a wider tire, not a larger aspect ratio. the 205/55/16 to 205/60/16 will only make for a taller donut in your wheel well, which will mess with your speedometer and not do what you want with it, which is to have a larger contact patch. IMHO, if you find a good set of all-seasons or a dedicated winter setup, there's no need to mess with the dimensions, especially if you're using the stockers for the summer tire and winter tire. Right now I have cooper cs4 tires at the corners; not the best dry grip, but in the wet and most definitely the snow these things are champs for an all season. I'd definitely recommend them as far as all-seasons go when dry performance isn't high on your priority list.

In a nutshell, don't worry about the dimensions so much as the tire and compound. If you find a good 89 or 91H rated tire that's held up to snow standards, jump on it. Check out tirerack too, they've got excellent info over there on winter setups and such.

I have had kuhmo esctas for a while now and they are an awesome all season tire. Dont go wider in the snow, you want to stay stock size.